Michigan Drunk Driving Defense
Don't Plead Guilty: Call an Experienced Jackson, Michigan, Attorney
If you've been charged with drunk driving in Jackson County or any other mid-Michigan county, do not plead guilty as charged without consulting an experienced and knowledgeable OWI/DUI defense attorney. Drunk driving cases have serious consequences. Curtis, Curtis & Brelinski's Jackson, Michigan, criminal defense attorneys will thoroughly review your case and help you determine the best course of action to limit the possible long-lasting effects a drunk driving conviction can have on your life. Depending on our review and your goals, we may fight the charges to have them dismissed, take it to trial, or strategically negotiate a plea bargain that limits your sentence and saves your driving privileges.
Common Drunk Driving Charges in Michigan
- OWI - Operating While Impaired - 0.08% or Greater
- OWVI - Operating While Visibly Impaired
- Super-Drunk - 0.17% or Greater
- OWPD - Operating With the Presence of Drugs
- Zero Tolerance - Person under 21 years of Age; .02% but less than .08%
Other Related Charges
- Refusal to Submit to a PBT
- Implied Consent Refusal
- MIP - Minor in Possession
- Open Intoxicants
- Possession or Use of Marijuana or Other Drugs
- Driving While License Suspended
- Driving While License Restricted
- Driving While License Expired
- Defective Equipment
- Expired Registration or Insurance
- Disorderly Conduct
- Probation Violations
Fees and Michigan Driver's License Suspension / Restriction for OWI and OWVI
In addition to a sentence imposed by a judge, the Michigan Secretary of State will automatically impose sanctions against a convicted drunk driver.
For a first-offense OWI, your Michigan driver's license will be suspended 30 days and restricted another 150 days. For a second offense within 7 years, your license is revoked. There will also be Driver Responsibility Fees of $1,000.00 for two (2) consecutive years. This fee is in addition to the fines and costs assessed by the court.
For a first-offense OWVI, your license will be restricted for 90 days. There is no hard suspension; and the Driver Responsibility Fees are reduced to $500.00 for two (2) consecutive years.
As you can see, if your attorney can argue and convince the prosecutor and police to a successful plea bargain, you can keep your driving privileges and save $1,000 in fees, among other benefits.
You Don't Have to Do It Alone: Contact Us
Any contact with police and the court system can be embarrassing but also intimidating. You don't have to do it alone. Let our experienced and knowledgeable Jackson-based drunk driving defense attorneys guide you through the process, negotiate with the prosecutors and police, appear in court and argue on your behalf, and ultimately, represent your best interests.
For more information, or to speak to one of our drunk driving and criminal defense attorneys, call (517) 787-9481, email firstname.lastname@example.org, or complete our online contact form. Centrally located in Jackson, we assist clients throughout mid-Michigan.